Hazel’s Irish Brack Loaf Cake

By Hazel McKenzie Kay

IMG_1882

‘I had come from a teaching hospital in London. After the war, ingredients were slim on the ground. I set off for New Zealand in a Hillman Imp with a chap who didn’t want to pay the tax to ship it from London, so we drove it overland to India where we couldn’t find tyres to fit it, and got lost on the south coast with rope for wheels.

His mother in New Zealand taught me this recipe.’

Ingredients

  • Half a kilo of dried fruit (Not the fake cherries!), soaked in a cup of cold black tea overnight.
  • 2 cups wholemeal SR flour

Method

  • Line a loaf tin with baking paper.
  • Mix the ingredients and pour into the tin.
  • Cook for an hour at 200 degrees.

Note: If mixture is too ‘tacky’ add cold water.

I make 2 a month and they last! I take them to morning teas at the church, and they are always on offer to visitors. They’re nice toasted with butter too!

IMG_4934

Leave a comment