Wasn’t He Naughty!

“He said to his friend looking through the window, “Look there’s a girl ready for bed, let’s go in!” Wasn’t he naughty?”

IMG_6415

Diana Klima met her husband at a ‘Come in bad taste’ dress up party in Cooma in the 60s! Listen to her tell the hilarious story of their meeting here.

Transcript

I met him just at the dance. I was dancing there with someone and then he came in… Actually he was going out with a girl from Croatia or somewhere and she’d broken it off with him. And he was with his friend, looking through the window. I was in pyjamas because it was ‘Come in bad taste’. Imagine today ‘Come in bad taste’ pyjamas… It wouldn’t be bad taste at all, because it’s just ordinary, isn’t it? It was just ‘Come in bad taste’ it was called and I just wore my pyjamas. They were pretty nice stripy pyjamas. And he said to his friend looking through the window, “Look there’s a girl ready for bed, let’s go in!” Wasn’t he naughty?

He just asked the person I was dancing with, he just said, “Could you introduce me to your friend?” Because he knew the chap anyway. He invited me, he said could he take me home and I said unfortunately, well not unfortunately, but I do have to go home with the person I came with. And he said, “Could we go to the pictures or something?” And I said “Oh yeah…” I couldn’t even remember what he looked like, except that he had a very nice white shirt, I can remember that. So I went to the pictures the next night, and we got sort of friendly.

Leave a Reply

